Nov 9, 2010

Nov 9, 2010….6.9 miles elliptical-30 minutes.

Wow, what a great workout! I slept in this morning and wasn’t able to get my workout in. I debated on skipping it all together, but decided to do it after lunch. Usually I wait a good hour and a half after lunch to workout WHEN I workout after lunch. But this time I decided to try to do the workout just under an hour after I ate to see how I would feel…I was thinking I might get a cramp or a side stitch or SOMETHING-but I was fine the WHOLE TIME!  Up til now I have done all my runs in the morning on pretty much, an empty tummy. But as my runs are getting longer, I am thinking I may need to eat SOMETHING ahead of time.  So this gives me hope that I CAN eat something an hour or so before a run and not get a cramp or feel like I need to hurl at any point =)

This elliptical workout I did a little differently.  I started with 10 min of warm up. I checked my heartrate and it was around 140 throughout this first 10 mintues. The 2nd 10min was a fast tempo pace-effort wise I would say it was at about a 5K pace. My heartrate was around 190-200 during this time.  Then I brought the pace and heartrate back down for 3 min (heartrate was around 140 at the end of the 3min) then I went back up to 5K pace for the next 7 minutes.  Total workout time 30:00. 

I really like doing ‘intervals’ on the elliptical.  I am hoping it will help me build up my lungs. During my last race, my legs could TOTALLY have gone faster but my lungs were screaming ‘WHY?!?! WHY are you doing this to us?!??!’

Yeah. Quite pathetic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nov 9, 2010

  1. Kristine says:

    I am hoping to try this when I am working out next year – and it doesn’t hurt that Chocolate Milk is awesome!

    http://health.yahoo.net/experts/eatthis/chocolate-milk-diet

  2. I had heard lots of runners use chocolate milk as a recovery drink, but I never thought about it BEFORE a run! MUST try this!!!!!

  3. iPathfinder says:

    I don’t eat before my short runs of 6 miles or less, but my long runs that I am planning on being out for well over an hour for, I always eat a little something. Toast with Nutella is always a winner.

  4. Well, I did 8 miles last weekend on pretty much an empty tummy (except for a tiny bit of dry cheerios and a few pringles about an hour before) =) I MAY try to eat something before my 9.3 mile run Saturday. Believe it or not, I have never tried Nutella! I have heard all about is awesomeness so I am actually a little terrified I will become addicted =)

  5. iPathfinder says:

    Here are the ingredients:
    ingredients: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reduced minerals whey (milk), lecithin as emulsifier (soy), vanillin: an artificial flavor.

    200 Calories for 2 tbsp servings.

    And oh so tasty.

  6. I am SALIVATING just reading that.
    I smell trouble…

    =)

  7. Nej says:

    So far I don’t eat before I run….mainly because I get up at 4:45….I don’t want to get up any earlier for food. I ran the half without anything in my stomach as well. I think I’m going to give eating an hour before my long run a try…..and see what happens. If I have to stop the run short, at least I’ll know for the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

